qcinema 2019 winners cleaners

Here’s the Full List of the QCinema 2019 Winners


A film made of photocopied stills and hand colored with highlighter pens wins big at QCinema International Film Festival. Glenn Barit’s debut film, “Cleaners”, won best film in the Asian Next Wave category of QCinema 2019.

“Cleaners” also won Best Screenplay and the Audience Choice Award.

See the full list of winners of QCinema 2019 below:

  • Best Film – Asian Next Wave Competition: “Cleaners” by Glenn Barit
  • NETPAC Jury Prize – Asian Next Wave Competition: “Suburban Birds” by Sheng Qiu
  • Best Film – QShorts Competition: “Judy Free” by Che Tagyamon
  • Best Director – Asian Next Wave Competition: Rae Red for “Babae at Baril”
  • Best Actor – Asian Next Wave Competition: Por Silatsa for “The Long Walk”
  • Best Actress – Asian Next Wave Competition: Janine Gutierrez for “Babae at Baril”
  • Special Jury Prize – QShorts Competition: “Tokwifi” by Carla Pulido Ocampo
  • Best Artistic Contribution – Asian Next Wave Competition: Chatametikool for the editing of “Nakorn-Sawan”.
  • Best Screenplay – Asian Next Wave Competition: Glenn Barit for “Cleaners”
  • Gender Sensitivity Award: Asian Next Wave Competition: “Babae at Baril” by Rae Red
  • Audience Choice Award – Asian Next Wave Competition: “Cleaners” by Glenn Barit
  • Audience Choice Award – QShorts Competition: “Excuse Me, Miss, Miss, Miss, Miss” by Sonny Calvento

For the first time in 7 years, QCInema recognized the contribution of one of the living pillars of the film industry. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Mr. Vic del Rosario or “Boss Vic” of Viva Films.

The international set of jury for the Asian Next Wave  is headed by renowned screenwriter Ricky Lee. The members are Richard Bolisay, Toshiyuki Hasegawa, Phan Dang Di, and Claire Marty.

The QCShorts competition jury members are Sari Dalena, Jun Sabayton, and Benjamin Tolentino


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.